General Information


The Bastrop Housing Authority was established in 1965 as a governmental, public corporation created under the laws of the state of Texas to provide housing for qualified individuals and families in accordance with rules and regulations prescribed by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development. A board of five Commissioners, appointed by the Mayor of the City of Bastrop is responsible for oversight and establishing policy. It is also a requirement that one commissioner must be a Bastrop Housing Authority resident. The Authority is independent from the City of Bastrop and is regulated by the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.


The Goal of the Bastrop Housing Authority is to ensure safe, decent, and affordable housing; create opportunities for residents’ self-sufficiency and economic independence; and assure fiscal integrity of all program participants.


Heather Ambrose, Executive Director

Myra Alexander, Clerk II
512-321-3398 ext 102

512-321-3398 ext 101

Michael Kresge, Maintenance
512-321-3398 (Do NOT email work order requests!)

After Hour Maintenance Emergencies ONLY

Board of Commissioners:

Phil Woods, Chairperson
Carlton Harris, Vice-Chairperson
Dolores DeHoyos, Resident Commissioner
Christina Campbell, Commissioner
Cindy Hellesvig, Commissioner

Board Meetings:

The Board of Commissioners meet (as determined necessary) on the fourth Wednesday of the month but not less than quarterly at 12 pm in the Housing Authority Office/Manor House Community Room located at 502 Farm Street, Bastrop, TX 78602.

Bastrop Housing Authority Staff

Myra Alexander, Clerk II

Myra has worked for Bastrop Housing Authority since 2021 and is primarily responsible for administrative functions involving admission, annual and interim re-certifications in addition to various other duties.

Michael Kresge, Housing Representative

Michael has worked for Bastrop Housing Authority since 2012. Michael is responsible for performing various maintenance related tasks at all properties.